TEENAGE FANCLUB – Release Back To The Light + London Gig this November

On 22nd September TEENAGE FANCLUB will release their new album ‘Nothing Lasts Forever’ via their own label PeMa in the UK /Europe and Merge in the US. 

Today, the band is excited to share “Back To The Light”, the latest single to be released from the album. 


Back To The Light”was written by Norman Blake who says: 

“I liked the idea of using being in a band as a metaphor for a personal relationship. They are not entirely dissimilar experiences. Like a few others on the album, this song has saxophone on it. The first time we’ve had that since Songs From Northern Britain. Stephen Black (Sweet Baboo) played those parts; we really like the richness it brings to the song. Steve will be with us when we head out on tour in October in Europe.”

The track follows lead single “Foreign Land” and album highlight “Tired Of Being Alone”.

Following the upcoming release of ‘Nothing Lasts Forever’, Teenage Fanclub will be also embarking on world tour throughout the Autumn and into 2024. Tickets for their November UK shows are selling fast – with dates and details as follows:

Teenage Fanclub UK tour dates:

03 November – Belfast – Queen’s University – Mandela Hall

05 November – Glasgow – Tramway Theatre 

06 November – Aberdeen – Tivoli Theatre 

07 November – Edinburgh – Assembly Rooms

08 November – Leeds – Brudenell 

09 November – Gateshead – Sage Hall 2 

11 November – Manchester – RNCM Theatre 

12 November – Sheffield – Leadmill

13 November – Bath – Komedia

14 November – Birmingham – Town Hall

17 November – London – EartH 

18 November – London – EartH 

Sweet Baboo will support on all Nov 2023 dates.


The first sound you hear on ‘Nothing Lasts Forever’ is a sustained feedback note that hangs in the air with the grace of a dragonfly before an acoustic riff spirals out of it, soaring upwards. It’s blissful and sun-soaked, like a late summer haze blurring out all the details on the horizon. When voices join the music, they arrive perfectly locked together, honed in on a single melody. “It’s time to move along / and leave the past behind me…” The message is simple. Don’t look back, only forward.

One of the recurring themes on ‘Nothing Lasts Forever’ is light, as both a metaphor for hope and as an ultimate destination further down the road. Although the band’s songwriters Norman Blake and Raymond McGinley found themselves touching on similar themes, it was pure coincidence.

Raymond: “We never talk about what we’re going to do before we start making a record. We don’t plan much other than the nuts and bolts of where we’re going to record and when. That thing about light was completely accidental; we didn’t realise that until we’d finished half the songs. The record feels reflective, and I think the more we do this thing, the more we become comfortable with going to that place of melancholy, feeling and expressing those feelings.”

While the vocals and the finishing touches on ‘Nothing Lasts Forever’ were recorded at Raymond’s place in Glasgow, the music was recorded in an intense ten-day period in the bucolic Welsh countryside at Rockfield Studios, near Monmouth in late August. You can hear the effect of that environment on the record – it’s full of soft breeze, wide skies, beauty and space. The band that recorded ‘Nothing Lasts Forever’ – Blake, McGinley along with Francis Macdonald on drums, Dave McGowan on bass and Euros Childs on keyboards – arrived at the residential studio without a fixed plan. Their confidence and ease with working together meant the record came together incredibly quickly. 

Looking for positives while faced with the grim realities of the 21st century, Teenage Fanclub’s latest album finds their ability to effortlessly turn melancholy into glorious, chiming harmony very much intact. A force for good for over three decades and counting, they will release their new album ‘Nothing Lasts Forever’, via their own PeMA label on 22 September 2023.